We were just partying in the park.

So, we gathered in the park. The punchbowl at Virginia Lake to be precise. We found a comfortable spot under a shady tree, laid out our picnic blankets and had afternoon tea. The birthday boy, the trooper that he is, did without his afternoon nap and we heard nary a whimper. He really is a wonderfully laid back little chappie.

The babies stayed in the shade but the big kids ventured out to play a little cricket.

Cricket in the punchbowl

Here’s a photograph of the cake I made for the big day. I was inspired by an illustration from a Hairy Maclary book. I found the little flowers and the butterfly at Thistle, our local confectioner’s, where I also obtained the fondant icing and colourings. I’m quite proud of the results, but, as the photograph itself will demonstrate, I really am no food stylist.

Duck pond birthday cake

Here, Mr two year old is ‘helping’ his little brother unwrap his presents.

Boy opening a gift

What was supposed to be a one and a half our get together turned into a 3 hour ‘do’ so I guess everyone had a good time. Thanks to all who came to help us celebrate. See you next time.

