Archive for March 10th, 2011

March 10, 2011

First for our second

Our baby has just turned one! So it’s time for a first birthday party for our second little chap.
We set a date for a party, invited our guests, and then I got so caught up in other things for a while that the planning came to a halt! But, panic not, I’ve got it all sorted . . . or, most of it . . .
I was stumped for cake ideas until just a few days before the party. Inspiration did strike eventually, though. A theme idea emerged and I found a promising cake recipe courtesy of www.thepioneerwoman.com. I pretty sure I’ll be breaking some quite important rule by serving my guests a recipe I’ve never tried before – but I’m brave, and they’re unsuspecting.
I wrote a list of food and beverage ideas. Then I talked to hubby and revised said list of food and beverage ideas. The next day I rewrote the list and shopped for supplies. It’s a picnic party so we’re not producing anything elaborate (aside, perhaps, from the all important cake). I suppose I should be thinking about attractive ways to present it, hmm . . .
We have family members driving down, and flying in, to celebrate with us. I feel fortunate that we can see so many of them on the day. I hope they know that we appreciate it.
I hope to have  a replacement camera in my hands on the special day, so I hope, accordingly, to be able to share the day with you via a few well selected photographs.                     Watch this space.

Tags: , ,
